Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
byevjzts  
#1 Posted : Thursday, July 6, 2017 2:39:21 PM(UTC)
byevjzts

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/25/2017(UTC)
Posts: 4
Location: Cheshire

Thanks: 2 times
Hi All

Hoping this is possible.

I'd like to be able to change what data is show in a combo/dropdown list in a cell based on the value of another combo in same row. Then if the user selects another row, the combo in said column changes based on that row.

For example, lets say i have columns called 'ID', 'Type' and 'Contact'.

'Type' is a list of say contact types, eg. 'Plumber', 'Decorator', 'Electrician'

Based on what is selected for that row, I'd like 'Contact' to also be a combo but filtered to only show say 'Plumber' contacts if that is what was selected for that row. Then on the next row, I can change it to 'Decorator' and contact dropdown only shows 'Decorator' contacts.

I can setup the columns with static combo's no problem with: Combos.Add("cboTradeTypes") and for the grid

.ColDefaultCell("TradeType")
.eType = igCellTextCombo
.sCtrlKey = "cboTradeTypes"

but i have no idea where to begin to allow them to change. I'm assuming it could be under the 'CurRowChange' event for the grid to change the data, but i'm really not sure.

Any help is appreciated

Also, complete side note, is there a way to add a command button. I did find an example for VB6 but this obviously doesnt work in MS Access.

Thanks

Phill
Igor/10Tec  
#2 Posted : Friday, July 7, 2017 11:49:12 AM(UTC)
Igor/10Tec

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Forum Moderator
Joined: 1/17/2011(UTC)
Posts: 1,111

Thanks: 15 times
Was thanked: 141 time(s) in 141 post(s)
Look at the 'One-to-many combos' sample in the iGrid extra samples library here:

https://10tec.com/activex-grid/extra-samples.aspx

Is it what you are looking for?
thanks 1 user thanked Igor/10Tec for this useful post.
byevjzts on 7/12/2017(UTC)
byevjzts  
#3 Posted : Wednesday, July 12, 2017 9:07:39 AM(UTC)
byevjzts

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/25/2017(UTC)
Posts: 4
Location: Cheshire

Thanks: 2 times
Originally Posted by: Igor/10Tec Go to Quoted Post
Look at the 'One-to-many combos' sample in the iGrid extra samples library here:

https://10tec.com/activex-grid/extra-samples.aspx

Is it what you are looking for?


Can't believe i missed that example, I went through them as well :(. I think that is exactly what I'm looking for. I've only skimmed the form it at the moment but i think thats it. I'll let you know if there are complications, otherwise thank you for the answer :)

Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.