AlexT
  • AlexT
  • Member Topic Starter
2017-11-15T23:10:32Z
I am trying to deploy my first app using the iGrid ActiveX and one of my tester (ou of a total of 4) has the following message when trying to register the OCX:

Registration issue

All 3 others went smoothly.

Any idea what could be wrong here (it is a French version of the OS but I guess it should not be relevant) ?
Igor/10Tec
2017-11-17T05:46:19Z
Launch the command prompt with admin rights.

Read also the following KB posts on our forum:

Redistributing the iGrid OCX / Registering in the Windows registry 

Registering iGrid without admin rights 
csmith222
2018-01-24T13:56:16Z
I'm still not clear on the best way to ensure other machines can open excel files with forms containing this control, without having to have admin privileges and manually installing.

I'm kinda new to this and love this control, but I'd like for others within the organization to be able to use this. How can I ensure they can open the file and load the forms?
AlexT
  • AlexT
  • Member Topic Starter
2018-01-24T14:21:04Z
Originally Posted by: csmith222 

I'm still not clear on the best way to ensure other machines can open excel files with forms containing this control, without having to have admin privileges and manually installing.

I'm kinda new to this and love this control, but I'd like for others within the organization to be able to use this. How can I ensure they can open the file and load the forms?

My understanding is that unless you use late binding  (ie not put a direct reference to the object in your project) you will need to have some sort of install procedure (based on the scripts mention by Igor) separate from you actual workbook.

Igor/10Tec
2018-01-24T14:30:46Z
Even if you use late binding, the library you want to use must be registered in the Windows registry.

And late binding is not applicable to visual ActiveX controls like iGrid.
csmith222
2018-01-24T15:02:06Z